Man of the Year


Craig R. Barrett, Ph.D.

The Supreme Executive Committee of Kappa Sigma selected Retired CEO/Chairman of Intel Corporation Craig R. Barrett, Ph.D., as the 2014 Kappa Sigma Man of the Year. Brother Barrett is a 1958 initiate of the Beta-Zeta Chapter at Stanford University and will be the 81st Brother in the history of the Fraternity to receive the distinguished award.

Brother Barrett joined Intel Corporation in 1974 where he served in various roles leading up to his selection as the company’s fourth president in 1997, chief executive officer in 1998 and chairman of the board in 2005. Today, Brother Barrett is the president and chairman of BASIS Charter Schools.

Prior to joining Intel in 1974, Brother Barrett received his BS, MS and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University. After graduation, he joined the faculty of Stanford in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, rising to the rank of Associate Professor. Dr. Barrett was a Fulbright Fellow at Danish Technical University in Denmark and a NATO Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Physical Laboratory in England.

In addition to serving as president and chairman of BASIS Charter Schools, Brother Barrett chairs Achieve, Inc., Change The Equation (a national science, technology, engineering and math [STEM] initiative), the Governor’s Arizona Ready Education Council and Dossia. He is vice chair of Science Foundation Arizona, and is a member of the Board of Directors of K12 Inc., Society for Science and the Public, the Arizona Commerce Authority Board, and a faculty member of Thunderbird School of Global Management.

Brother Barrett has also co-chaired the Business Coalition for Student Achievement, the National Innovation Initiative Leadership Council, and has served as a member of the Board of Trustees for the U.S. Council for International Business and the Clinton Global Initiative Education Advisory Board.

Brother Barrett is married to Barbara Barrett who served as the United States Ambassador to Finland.

Kappa Sigma will honor Brother Barrett at a banquet being held on Sept. 20, 2014, at the Menlo Circus Club in Atherton, Calif.

Click Here for More Information and to Register for the Banquet


Past Recipients

Name Chapter School Year
Cyrus R. Smith Tau University of Texas 1937
Lowell J. Thomas Beta-Omicron University of Denver 1938
Warren R. Austin, Jr Alpha-Lambda University of Vermont 1939
Frederick H. Albee Alpha-Rho Bowdoin College 1940
Edward R. Murrow Gamma-Mu Washington State University 1941
James H. Macia Jr Gamma-Rho University of Arizona 1942
Jack E. Manch Upsilon Hampden-Sydney College 1942
Roy C. Osgood Alpha-Eta George Washington University 1943
Dwight H. Green Alpha-Pi Wabash College 1944
Clinton A. Pierce Alpha-Gamma University of Illinois 1945
Ernest W. Goodpasture Kappa Vanderbilt University 1946
Beauford H. Jester Tau University of Texas 1947
Edwin P. Hubble Gamma-Beta University of Chicago 1948
Cason J. Callaway Zeta University of Virginia 1949
Rev Fred P. Corson, Ret Beta-Pi Dickinson College 1950
Carey E. Kefauver Lambda University of Tennessee 1951
Donald H. Mc Laughlin Beta-Xi University of California/Berkeley 1952
Hoagland H. Carmichael Beta-Theta Indiana University 1953
Thomas J. Williams Xi University of Arkansas 1954
Arnold M. Johnson Gamma-Beta University of Chicago 1955
Henry G. Symonds Beta-Zeta Stanford University 1956
Francis S. Van Derbur Beta-Omicron University of Denver 1957
Willard F. Rockwell, Jr Alpha-Delta Pennsylvania State University 1958
E. Branch Mc Cracken Beta-Theta Indiana University 1959
John M. Olin Alpha-Kappa Cornell University 1960
Spencer T. Olin Alpha-Kappa Cornell University 1960
HON John G. Tower Iota Southwestern University 1961
HON Paul J. Fannin Gamma-Rho University of Arizona 1962
James B. Fisk Gamma-Pi MIT 1963
Dr Denton A. Cooley Tau University of Texas 1964
Reno Odlin Beta-Psi University of Washington 1965
William A. Whitfield Gamma-Lambda Iowa State University 1966
Benjamin S. Gilmer Beta-Eta Auburn University 1967
James H. Binns Beta-Omicron University of Denver 1968
GEN Samuel C. Phillips Delta-Gamma University of Wyoming 1969
HON Robert J. Dole Gamma-Omicron University of Kansas 1970
Edgar D. Mitchell Delta-Alpha Carnegie Mellon University 1971
Lamar Hunt Delta-Pi Southern Methodist University 1972
Joseph D. Waggonner Jr Epsilon-Gamma Louisiana Tech University 1973
John B. Kelly, Jr Alpha-Epsilon University of Pennsylvania 1974
Dr John W. Ryan Delta-Sigma University of Utah 1975
Ardeshir Zahedi Epsilon-Kappa Utah State University 1976
Richard F. Barry III Epsilon-Beta University of Miami 1977
William R. Hewlett Beta-Zeta Stanford University 1978
Dr Lee S. Dreyfus Beta-Epsilon University of Wisconsin 1979
David C. Treen Sigma Tulane University 1980
Rev John M. Allin Sr Omega University of The South 1981
Larry M. Speakes Delta-Xi University of Mississippi 1982
Fred M. Russell Kappa Vanderbilt University 1983
Charles L. Massey Jr Xi University of Arkansas 1984
Lewis W. Lehr Alpha-Psi University of Nebraska 1985
Paul H. Henson Alpha-Psi University of Nebraska 1986
Robert W. Lundeen Gamma-Sigma Oregon State University 1987
Mort Walker Beta-Gamma University of Missouri/Columbia 1988
HON Dante B. Fascell Epsilon-Beta University of Miami 1989
E. Fay Jones, Jr Xi University of Arkansas 1990
Dr Russel L. Wiener Phi Rhodes College 1991
Samuel Donaldson Epsilon-Xi University of Texas/El Paso 1992
Jerral W. Jones Xi University of Arkansas 1993
Robert J. Eaton Gamma-Omicron University of Kansas 1994
John F. Smith, Jr Gamma-Delta University of Massachusetts 1994
Robert D. Krebs Beta-Zeta Stanford University 1995
Richard E. Rainwater Tau University of Texas 1996
Pierson M. Grieve Jr Epsilon-Delta Northwestern University 1997
Philip S. Anderson Jr Xi University of Arkansas 1998
Col. Ronald J. Webb Beta-Theta Indiana University 1999
Raymond J. Lane, Jr Gamma-Phi West Virginia University 2000
Hon Paul E. Patton Beta-Nu University of Kentucky 2001
General Paul V. Hester Delta-Xi University of Mississippi 2002
Todd R. Wagner Beta-Theta Indiana University 2003
Michael L. Eskew Chi Purdue University 2004
Sonny Perdue Beta-Lambda University of Georgia 2005
Martin C. Petersen Rho Arizona State University 2006
Alan R. Mulally Gamma-Omicron University of Kansas 2007
Richard M. Burr Delta-Omega Wake Forest University 2008
Gary D. Forsee Beta-Chi Missouri Univ. of Science & Technology 2009
Jim Morris Beta-Theta Indiana University 2010
Brian J. O’Dwyer Alpha-Eta George Washington University 2011
Bill Wittliff Tau University of Texas at Austin 2012
William E. Gortney Lambda-Lambda Elon University 2013

Back to Top ↑